If I have spoken evil, bear witness of the evil 040913

Today’s Bible Reading –

1 Samuel 27 – 29 and John 18

Selected verses…

Old Testament –

“And David said in his heart, I shall now perish one day by the hand of Saul: there is nothing better for me than that I should speedily escape into the land of the Philistines; and Saul shall despair of me, to seek me any more in any coast of Israel: so shall I escape out of his hand.  And David arose, and he passed over with the six hundred men that were with him unto Achish, the son of Maoch, king of Gath.  And David dwelt with Achish at Gath, he and his men, every man with his household, even David with his two wives, Ahinoam the Jezreelitess, and Abigail the Carmelitess, Nabal’s wife.  And it was told Saul that David was fled to Gath: and he sought no more again for him.”  1 Samuel 27:1-4 (KJV)

New Testament –

“The high priest then asked Jesus of His disciples, and of His doctrine.  Jesus answered him, ‘I spake openly to the world; I ever taught in the synagogue, and in the temple, whither the Jews always resort; and in secret have I said nothing.  Why askest thou Me? Ask them which heard Me, what I have said unto them: behold, they know what I said.’  And when He had thus spoken, one of the officers which stood by struck Jesus with the palm of his hand, saying, ‘Answerest Thou the high priest so?’  Jesus answered him, ‘If I have spoken evil, bear witness of the evil: but if well, why smitest thou Me?'” John 18:19-23

One thought on “If I have spoken evil, bear witness of the evil 040913

Leave a Reply

