For I could wish that myself were accursed from Christ for my Brethren… 052813

Today’s Bible Reading –

2 Chronicles 24 – 25 and Romans 9

Selected verses…

Old Testament –

“But there came a man of God to him, saying, ‘O king, let not the army of Israel go with thee; for the LORD is not with Israel, all the children of Ephraim. But if thou wilt go, do it, be strong for the battle: God shall make thee fall before the enemy: for God hath power to help, and to cast down.’ And Amaziah said to the man of God, ‘But what shall we do for the hundred talents which I have given to the army of Israel?’ And the man of God answered, ‘The LORD is able to give thee much more than this.’  Then Amaziah separated them, to wit, the army that was come to him out of Ephraim, to go home again: wherefore their anger was greatly kindled against Judah, and they returned home in great anger. And Amaziah strengthened himself, and led forth his people, and went to the valley of salt, and smote of the children of Seir ten thousand.”  2 Chronicles 25:7-11 (KJV)

New Testament –

“I say the truth in Christ, I lie not, my conscience also bearing me witness in the Holy Ghost, that I have great heaviness and continual sorrow in my heart.  For I could wish that myself were accursed from Christ for my brethren, my kinsmen according to the flesh: who are Israelites; to whom pertaineth the adoption, and the glory, and the covenants, and the giving of the law, and the service of God, and the promises; whose are the fathers, and of whom as concerning the flesh Christ came, who is over all, God blessed for ever. Amen.”  Romans 9:1-5 (KJV)

Leave a Reply

