Therefore thus saith the LORD… 120813

Today’s Bible Reading –

Amos 7 – 8;  3 John 1

Selected verses…

Old Testament –

“Then answered Amos, and said to Amaziah, ‘I was no prophet, neither was I a prophet’s son; but I was an herdman, and a gatherer of sycomore fruit: and the LORD took me as I followed the flock, and the LORD said unto me, ‘Go, prophesy unto My people Israel.’ Now therefore hear thou the word of the LORD: Thou sayest, ‘Prophesy not against Israel, and drop not thy word against the house of Isaac.’  Therefore thus saith the LORD; ‘Thy wife shall be an harlot in the city, and thy sons and thy daughters shall fall by the sword, and thy land shall be divided by line; and thou shalt die in a polluted land: and Israel shall surely go into captivity forth of his land.'”  Amos 7:14-17 (KJV)

New Testament –

“The Elder unto the wellbeloved Gaius, whom I love in the truth.  Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth. For I rejoiced greatly, when the brethren came and testified of the truth that is in thee, even as thou walkest in the truth.  I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth.  Beloved, thou doest faithfully whatsoever thou doest to the brethren, and to strangers; which have borne witness of thy charity before the church: whom if thou bring forward on their journey after a godly sort, thou shalt do well: because that for His name’s sake they went forth, taking nothing of the Gentiles.  We therefore ought to receive such, that we might be fellowhelpers to the truth.”  3 John 1:1-8 (KJV)

Leave a Reply

